Monday, October 2, 2023

WVA Global Veterinary Awards launched

Must read

BRUSSELS — The World Veterinary Association and Ceva Santé Animale (Ceva) have announced the WVA Global Veterinary Awards, the evolution of the highly successful Global Animal Welfare Awards, that were launched in 2017 and focused solely on Animal Welfare.

Veterinary professionals play a critical role in protecting the welfare of animals and it was therefore logical that the awards be extended to include the 4 strategic objectives of WVA.

In total, the new WVA Global Veterinary Awards comprise six awards that will recognize veterinarians for their work in providing animal owners, governments, health authorities, farmers, other veterinarians, and the public with best practice across:

· One Health

· Medicine Stewardship

· Animal Welfare

· Veterinary Education

· “Veterinary student of the year” – together with the International Veterinary Student Association (IVSA)

· One overall winner as “Veterinarian of the year”

WVA calls out to its members around the world for nominations, which will be assessed by the working group of each of the WVA Strategic Objectives. The award winners will be announced in early 2024 with a final ceremony during WVAC 2024 in Cape Town, South Africa.

“With these awards, the WVA, as the voice of the global veterinary profession, wants to recognize the work of veterinarians worldwide, who, in their daily lives, have provided outstanding and exemplary services for the benefit of their societies,” said Dr. Rafael Laguens, WVA president. “Highlighting also the unique role veterinarians play in protecting the health and welfare of animals, humans, and the environment.”

“As a veterinarian, the creation of these awards and their success to date, give me immense pride when I see the scope and impact of the work carried out by my fellow professionals,” Dr. Marc Prikazsky, Ceva Santé Animale chairman and CEO, added. “We are therefore delighted to continue to support WVA in staging the Awards that help to put the spotlight on these critical issues addressed by our profession.”

Application deadline is Nov. 15.

For more about the awards, visit

More articles

Latest article