Monday, October 2, 2023

Mike Levengood elected 2022 USPOULTRY chairman

Must read

ATLANTA — Mike Levengood, vice president, chief animal care officer and farmer relationship advocate for Perdue Farms, was elected chairman of the board of directors of U.S. Poultry & Egg Association (USPOULTRY) on Monday, Jan. 24.

The board meeting was held during the International Poultry Expo, part of the 2022 International Production & Processing Expo. Levengood previously served as vice chairman.

Levengood is a graduate of Pennsylvania State University where he obtained a BBA in agriculture business management. He has served the poultry industry in various capacities, including past chairman of the National Chicken Council Growout Committee. He joined Perdue in 1984, where he has held a variety of senior level positions.


Jarod Morrison, Farbest Foods, Huntingburg, Ind., was named USPOULTRY treasurer. Morrison received his BS in finance from the University of Southern Indiana and his MBA from Purdue University. Before joining Farbest Foods, he was senior director of finance and accounting with Masterbrand Cabinets and finance manager with GE Plastics.

He is currently chief financial officer for Farbest Foods where he leads all aspects of finance, accounting, and IT for Farbest Foods, Farbest Farms and JFS Milling.


Jonathan Cade, Hy-Line International, Des Moines, Iowa, was named secretary.

Cade has a degree from Harper Adams University in the United Kingdom (UK). Before becoming president of Hy-Line International, he served as managing director of Hy-Line subsidiary, Hy-Line UK International.

Immediate past chairman

Greg Hinton, vice president of sales for Rose Acre Farms in Seymour, Ind., is immediate past chairman. A native of Indiana, Hinton attended Indiana University and Purdue University. He has served the poultry industry in various capacities on boards and committees, including the Indiana State Egg Board, USA Poultry & Egg Export Council, International Egg Commission, United Egg Producers, Indiana Farm Bureau and the American Farm Bureau.

Hinton serves on the Executive Committee and Long-Range Planning Committee for Rose Acre Farms and has been with the company for 40 years.

“I look forward to the leadership and guidance these officers will provide our organization,” remarked John Starkey, president of USPOULTRY.

Board of directors

Serving on the USPOULTRY board of directors will be:

Rusty Allen, Sealed Air, Charlotte, N.C.; Dr. Marc de Beer, Aviagen Inc., Huntsville, Ala.; Lance Buckert, Koch Foods, Park Ridge, Ill.; Dr. Tom Frost, DSM Nutritional Products, Lilburn, Ga.; Bill Griffith, Peco Foods, Tuscaloosa, Ala.; Ben Harrison, Amick Farms, Batesburg-Leesville, S.C.; Tom Hensley, Fieldale Farms, Baldwin, Ga.; Paul Hill, West Liberty Foods, Ellsworth, Iowa; Dan Huber, Foster Farms, Livingston, Calif.; Dr. Alice Johnson, Butterball, Garner, N.C.; Mandy Klopp, Pilgrim’s, Arcadia, Wis.; Bob Krouse, MPS Egg Farms, Mentone, Ind.; David Lathem, L&R Farms, Pendergrass, Ga.; Tim Maupin, Cargill, Wichita, Kan.; Kevin McDaniel, Wayne Farms, Oakwood, Ga.; Chip Miller, Tyson Foods, Springdale, Ark.; Sherman Miller, Cal-Maine Foods, Jackson, Miss.; Kevin Phillips, Case Farms, Troutman, N.C.; John Prestage, Prestage Farms, Clinton, N.C.; William Rehm, Daybreak Foods, Lake Mills, Wis.; Niki Rutter, Mountaire Corp., Millsboro, Del.; and Joel Sappenfield, Simmons Prepared Foods, Siloam Springs, Ark.

More articles

Latest article