Monday, December 11, 2023

UEP presents awards, elects officers

Must read

MIAMI BEACH, Fla. — United Egg Producers presented Jacques Klempf with the Egg Producer of the Year award during the group’s recent annual board meeting and executive conference.

For nearly 20 years, Klempf  has served as CEO of Dixie Egg Co., based in Jacksonville, Fla., succeeding his father’s role in the family business that was founded in 1948

Klempf began peddling eggs in the neighborhood at age eight and assumed a management position during his college years, when his father asked him to oversee the 3:30 p.m. to midnight shift.

He has served on the UEP board and as chairman of American Egg Board, the U.S. Poultry & Egg Association and the UEP Information Sharing Committee.

UEP Chairman Ron Truex noted that Klempf had recently sold his business and would no longer be involved in the egg industry or UEP. “His leadership and encouraging personality will be missed by all,” Truex said.

President’s Award

UEP President and CEO Chad Gregory presented the 2016 President’s Award to Phyllis Blizzard, who retired from UEP in May after a 30-year career with the egg industry.

The award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated tremendous leadership and/or value to the egg industry and who is not an egg producer.

Blizzard’s career included managing the export of more than 109 million dozen eggs on behalf of the United States Egg Marketers and then UEP.

Gregory took the opportunity to personally recognize the 2015 President’s Award recipient, Joanne Ivy, who had been unable to attend the 2015 UEP Annual Conference. Ivy was presented a personalized plaque and recognized for 40 years of service to the egg community, first in North Carolina and later with American Egg Board (AEB). Ivy retired last year from AEB as president and CEO/

New officers

UEP officers and board members for the coming year were also elected at the annual meeting.

New officers are Ron Truex, chairman; Cliff Lillywhite, first vice chairman; Brian Barrett, second vice chairman; Craig Giroux, treasurer; Tom Hertzfeld Jr., secretary; and Jim Dean, past chairman.

Members of the UEP board include:

Area 1: Steve Gemperle, chairman, Cliff Lillywhite, Glenn Hickman, Daren Rigtrup and Gary West.

Area 2: Mark Oldenkamp, chairman, Roger Deffner and Yany Stiebrs.

Area 3: Bob Krouse, chairman, Terry Baker, Steve Boomsma, Jim Dean, Peter Forsman, Steve George, Steve Herbruck, Tom Hertzfeld Jr., Rob Knecht, Sandra Lausecker, Marcus Rust, Roger Seger, Lisa Timmerman, and Ron Truex.

Area 4: Craig Giroux, chairman, Kurt Kreher, Mike Puglisi and Paul Sauder.

Area 5: Trey Braswell, chairman, Dolph Baker, Brian Barrett, Brent Booker, Gregg Clanton, David Lathem, Alex Simpson and Lake Wagner.

More articles

Latest article