Sunday, December 10, 2023

TPF names officers, presents awards

Must read

ROUND ROCK, Texas — The Texas Poultry Federation elected David Elbel of Feather Crest Farms as president during the group’s 94th annual convention held in July in San Antonio, Texas.

Paul Sandel of Hy-Line North America was elected as first vice president. Other vice presidents are Michael Ermon, Cal-Maine Foods; Mike Neal, Neal Farms; Kevin Odenbach, Cobb-Vantress; Don Valis, Tyson Foods; and Gene Waggoner, Animal Health International.

Awards presented include:

  • Golden Feather Award — Bob Turner of Rural Issues Consulting. Turner served as a member of the Texas House of Representatives for 12 years and served in the U.S. Army Reserves for 35 years, retiring as a lieutenant colonel battalion commander.
  • Salesman of the Year Award — Marty Allen of Elanco. Allen received a degree in business administration from Logan College. He began his career at Con-Agra Frozen and also worked at OK Foods. In 2011, he moved to Lohmann with the purchase of Lohmann by Elanco and is now executive sales representative.
  • Family farm Environmental Excellence Award — Ken and Dana Smotherman of Woape Turkey Farm. The award was presented by Paul Bredwell of the U.S. Poultry & Egg Association.

The 2018 annual convention will be held July 11-14 at the Hyatt Riverwalk in San Antonio.

More articles

Latest article