Thursday, May 23, 2024

Florida declares state of emergency ahead of this week’s hurricane

Must read

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. — On Oct. 7, Florida Gov. Rick Scott issued and executive order declaring a state of emergency in Escambia, Santa Rosa, Okaloosa, Walton, Holmes, Washington, Bay, Jackson, Calhoun, Gulf, Gadsden, Liberty, Franklin, Leon, Wakulla, Jefferson, Madison, Taylor, Hamilton, Suwannee, Lafayette, Dixie, Columbia, Gilchrist, Levy and Citrus counties, as the state continues to monitor and prepare for Hurricane Michael.

This state of emergency ensures that state and local government has ample time, resources and flexibility to get prepared for this storm, officials note. Scott is also urging all utilities and local partners to ensure mutual aid agreements are in place. . .

Register or Login to keep reading

Thank you for your interest in accessing the complete content. To continue reading, please register for free. By registering, you'll gain full access to our valuable resources, updates, and insights.

If you already have an account please Log In.

More articles

Latest article