Thursday, September 21, 2023

UEP honors industry leaders at annual awards banquet

Must read

JOHNS CROSSING, Ga. — The United Egg Producers recognized Dr. Joy Mench, formerly of the University of California-Davis (UC Davis), and Stephen Herbruck of Herbruck’s Poultry Ranch, for their lasting impact on the egg community at its annual executive conference in Charleston, S.C.

  • President’s Award

Mench was an inaugural member of UEP’s independent Scientific Advisory Committee. The committee, comprised of veterinarians and university professors who are recognized experts in hen welfare, helped create UEP’s animal welfare program and continues to provide guidance and leadership.

Mench chaired the committee from 2017-2020. A recognized expert on layer welfare, she worked as a professor at UC Davis, from 1995 to 2016 in the Department of Animal Science. While at the university, Mench was the director of the Center for Animal Welfare and published several books and publications on layer welfare.

“We are grateful for Joy’s continued commitment to our organization,” said Chad Gregory, president and CEO of UEP. “Her leadership and expertise have been invaluable as UEP seeks to advance its UEP Certified animal welfare program.”

  • Egg Producer of the Year

Herbruck is chairman of Herbruck’s Poultry Ranch in Saranac, Mich., and a fourth-generation egg farmer. With extensive experience in all aspects of egg production, Herbruck steered the vision of Herbruck’s Poultry, always choosing “the right decision” for flock management, food safety and the environment, no matter the circumstance or the cost. He leveraged the latest technology on Herbruck’s farms and brought it to the industry with the founding of Poultry Management Systems in 1981.

Herbruck brought his passion for excellence and innovation to UEP as well. A long-time UEP board member, he also served on the Animal Welfare, Government Relations and various other committees for over 20 years.

“Steve has been integral to UEP’s success in navigating the changes taking place in the egg industry,” Gregory said. “We are extremely thankful for the dedication and the excellence he has brought to his leadership roles at UEP.”

UEP also elected its board officers during its meeting. These egg producers are Craig Giroux of New York, chairman; Mike West of California, vice chairman; JT Dean of Iowa, treasurer; and Sherman Miller, Mississippi, secretary.

More articles

Latest article