UEP awards


UEP awards: At its recent annual meeting the United Egg Producers recognized three members as industry leaders. They included, left to right, Des Yawn, Brian Barrett and Jeff Goward. They are joined by Chad Gregory, UEP's president and CEO.

JOHNS CREEK, Ga. — At the United Egg Producers’ (UEP) annual executive conference, held in White Sulphur Springs, W.Va., the organization recognized and celebrated three individuals who have made a lasting impact on the U.S. egg farming community.

Egg industry leaders Brian Barrett of Bryan, Texas; Des Yawn of Atlanta, Ga.; and Jeffrey Goward of Peoria, Ariz., were recognized at UEP’s awards dinner on Oct. 16.

UEP also elected officers to lead the organization’s Board of Directors.

Barrett has been an active member of UEP, serving on the organization’s board since 2002.  In 2017 Barrett was elected chairman of the UEP Board of Directors. During his tenure, Barrett helped guide the egg industry through many issues, including hen housing, animal well-being, food safety and environmental responsibility. Barrett was awarded UEP’s 2019 Egg Producer of the Year.  

For decades, Yawn has been a valued business partner, advisor, industry supporter and friend to UEP and he received the President’s Award. An expert in loss prevention and control, Yawn is a senior vice president at Palomar Insurance, and leads the Palomar team, which provides insurance guidance and solutions to UEP farmer-members.

Goward was recognized for his dedicated leadership, serving as allied chairman of the United Egg Association for the past two years. Goward has been an active member of the egg farming community for more than 30 years, and works for Sanovo Technology where he serves as a regional sales manager.

“On behalf of our entire egg farming community, it is my honor to recognize these three individuals for their significant contributions to this organization and their steadfast commitment to the U.S. egg farming community,” said Chad Gregory, president and CEO of UEP. “These industry leaders have been tireless advocates for egg production and dedicated leaders within UEP, helping build stability within the industry and positioning our members for a sustainable future.”

UEP also elected its new slate of board officers at its meeting on Oct. 17. These include Tom Hertzfeld Jr., of Ohio as chairman; Craig Giroux of New York as vice chairman; Mike West of California as treasurer; and J.T. Dean of Iowa as secretary.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.